Friday, November 11, 2016

Virtual Tour & Review ~ Rules for a Rogue - Romancing the Rules: Book One by Christy Carlyle


A sparkling new series
about a rogue who must learn how to follow the 
rules and a woman who wants to
break all of them.



RULES FOR A ROGUE
Romancing the Rules #1
Christy Carlyle
Releasing Nov 1st, 2016
Avon Impulse



From the USA Today bestselling
author of ONE DANGEROUS DESIRE comes a sparkling new series about a rogue who
must learn how to follow the rules and a woman who wants to break all of them,
perfect for fans of Maya Rodale and Lorraine Heath.

Kit Ruthven's Rules (for
Rogues)
#1 Love freely but guard your heart,
no matter how tempting the invader.
#2 Embrace temptation, indulge your
sensual impulses, and never apologize.
#3 Scorn rules and do as you please.
You are a rogue, after all.

Following
the rules never brought anything but misery for Christopher “Kit” Ruthven.
After rebelling against his controlling father and leaving the family’s Ruthven
Rules etiquette book empire behind, Kit has been breaking every one imaginable
for the past six years. He’s enjoyed London’s sensual pleasures and secured his
reputation as a Rogue, but he’s failed to achieve success. When he inherits his
father’s publishing business, Kit is forced back into the life he never wanted.
Worse, he must face Ophelia Marsden, the woman he jilted but never forgot.

After
losing her father and refusing a loveless marriage proposal, Ophelia has
learned to rely on herself. To maintain the family home and support her younger
brother, she tutors young girls in deportment and decorum. But her pupils would
be scandalized if they knew their imminently proper teacher was also the author
of a guidebook encouraging ladies to embrace their independence and overthrow
outdated notions of etiquette like the Ruthven Rules.

As Kit
rediscovers the life, and the woman, he left behind, Ophelia must choose
between the practicalities she never truly believed in, or the love she’s never
been able to extinguish.



Before Ophelia could gather her sister and head back to the kitchen, a knock sounded at the front door. Juliet clutched her notebook to her chest and bolted back into the library.
Slipping Guidelines behind her back with one hand, Ophelia grasped the doorknob with the other. She schooled her features into a pleasant expression in case it was Mrs. Raybourn or, heaven forbid, Mr. Raybourn, in need of more reassurance their girls weren’t on the high road to ruin because of the book no one knew she’d written.
When she pulled the door open, all the breath whooshed from her body.
Their visitor wasn’t any member of the Raybourn family.
“Kit Ruthven.”
“You remember me, then?” He grinned as he loomed on the threshold, his shoulders nearly as wide as the frame. Eyes bright and intense, he took her in from head to toe, and then let his gaze settle on her mouth. When he finally looked into her eyes, the cocksure tilt of his grin had softened. She read a wariness in his gaze that matched her own.
She’d spent years trying to forget those dark, deep-set eyes.
“I remember you.” Her book slipped, skidding across her backside and clattering to the floor as her throat tightened on sentiments she’d been waiting years to express. None of them would come. Not a single word. Instead, in outright rebellion, her whole body did its best to melt into a boneless puddle. Gritting her teeth, Phee fought the urge to swoon or, worse, rush into his long, muscled arms.
“I’m relieved to hear it.” He had the audacity to kick his grin into a smile, a rakish slash that cut deep divots into his clean-shaven cheeks. Then he took a step through her door. “I worried that—”
“No.” She lifted a hand to stop him. Looking at the man was difficult enough. Hearing his voice—deeper now but achingly familiar—was too much. If he came closer, she might give in to some rogue impulse. And that wouldn’t do. That wouldn’t do at all.
Ophelia swallowed hard. She needed a moment to gather her wits. To rebuild her walls.
“You dropped something.” He moved toward her, so close his sleeve brushed hers.
She lowered her hand to avoid touching him and jerked back when he bent to retrieve her book, watching as he turned the volume to read its title.
Miss Gilroy’s Guidelines for Young Ladies. How intriguing. Looks as though Ruthven Publishing has some competition.”
Seeing him again was worse than she’d imagined. And she had imagined this moment aplenty. Far too many times. Not just on her infrequent jaunts to London but most days since they’d parted. The man had lingered in her thoughts, despite every effort to expel him.
Taking a shaky breath, she braced herself and faced him.
He’d always been tall. When they were children, she’d looked up to him. Literally. But he’d never used his size to bully others. More often he’d born teasing about his physique. Ungainly, his father had called him, and Kit repeated the word when referring to himself.
Now he offered no apologetic hunch in his stance. He didn’t cross his arms to narrow his body. More than embracing his size, he wielded his generous dimensions with a virile grace that made Phee’s mouth water. He stood with his long legs planted wide, shoulders thrown back. His chest was so broad that she itched to touch it.
Stop being a ninny, she chided herself. The most essential observation was that he did not look like a man who’d pined for her. Not a hint of guilt shadowed his gaze.
He thrust his hands behind his back, and the buttons above his waistcoat strained against the fabric on either side, as if the muscles beneath were too sizable to contain. Phee’s gaze riveted to the spot, waiting to see which would win—the pearly buttons or the dove gray fabric. When sense finally wound its way into her boggled mind, she glanced up into gilded brown eyes. He was the winner, judging by the satisfied smirk cresting his mouth.
Kit stood too near, close enough for her to smell his scent. A familiar green, like fresh-cut grass, but mingled now with an aromatic spice. Each breath held his spice scent heightened by the warmth of his body. The heat of him radiated against her chest.
His eyes were too intense, too hungry. He perused her brazenly, studying the hem of her outdated gown before his gaze roved up her legs, paused at her waist, lingered on her bosom, and caught for a moment on her lips. Finally, he met her eyes, and his mouth flicked up in a shameless grin.
She looked anywhere but at his eyes. On his neck, she noted the scar from a childhood adventure in the blackberry briar. Then she got stuck admiring his hair. Apparently his scandalous London lifestyle—if the rumors she’d heard were true—called for allowing his jet black hair to grow long and ripple in careless waves. Strands licked at his neck, curled up near his shoulders.
Time had been truly unfair. The years hadn’t weathered Kit at all. If anything, his features were sharper and more appealing. His Roman nose contrasted with the sensual fullness of his lips and those high Ruthven cheekbones. And his eyes. Gold and amber and chocolate hues chased each other around a pinwheel, all shadowed by enviably thick ebony lashes. One theater reviewer had written of the “power of his penetrating gaze.”
Ophelia only knew he’d once been able to see straight to her heart.
Retreating from his magnetic pull, she dipped her head and stared at his polished black boots, the neatly tailored cuffs of his trousers. Black as pitch, his clothing reminded her why he was here. He’d come to the village to bury his father. He was no doubt as eager to return to London as she was to close her eyes and make the too tempting sight of him disappear. But why had he come to her home?
“My condolences to you and your sisters,” she offered, and almost added Mr. Ruthven. That’s what everyone in the village would call him now, and they would expect him to live up to the name. Just as his father had.
“You didn’t attend the funeral.”
“Would your father have wished me to?” They both knew Kit’s father had never welcomed her presence in his life. She didn’t bother mentioning that Ruthven’s rule book explicitly instructed ladies to avoid funerals.
He shrugged. “I only know what I wished.”
There it was. The heart of all that had passed between them spelled out in six words. Kit had never doubted what he wanted—freedom, fame as a playwright, financial success on his own terms. Unfortunately, she’d never made it high enough on his list.
“Forgive me for missing your father’s funeral. I promise to call on your sisters soon.” Ophelia slid the door toward him, forcing him to retreat as she eased it closed. “Thank you for your visit.”
Pushing his sizable booted foot forward, he wedged it between the door and its frame. “I don’t think we can count this as a visit until you invite me in.”


Teatime and Books Review


Rules for a Rogue by Christy Carlyle is one of the best series of the year and a definite 5 Stars! I absolutely loved this book! So filled with suspense, love and deep passion. Kit Ruthven's been living in London for the past several years, he's a playwright and spends much of his days behind the stage. He dreams of making it big and seeing his plays on some of London's biggest stages. However, he gets word that his father has passed away. His father owns a publishing house and his Ruthven Rules has sold many copies and some women have greatly disagreed with these "rules", including his childhood friend Ophelia. Ophelia has had a rough life after the loss of her father, she refused to enter into a marriage without love. Instead, she supported herself and her sister and struggled to maintain her families homestead. She's written her own "Rule Book" and it's been accepted by a publishing company and ready to launch when she runs into none-other-than Kit Ruthven. Kit was the love of her life as she grew up, but he also broke her heart. Preferring the London stage to her. However, unbeknownst to her, Kit's longed for her all these years. Can the two rekindle what had begun in their youth? Can Ophelia forgive and open her heart to the one man who's held hers in the palm of his hands all these years?

Christy Carlyle has given us yet another wonderful story and fantastic series that will keep you up all night reading! I can't wait for the next book in this amazing series. Carlyle brings us amazing deep characters, vivid scenery and a plot that is so thick and detailed with lots of amazing twists and turns! I welcome you to grab a cup of tea, curl up and read Rules for a Rogue, you will not be displeased!










Fueled
by Pacific Northwest coffee and inspired by multiple viewings of every British
costume drama she can get her hands on, Christy Carlyle writes
sensual historical romance set in the Victorian era. She loves heroes
who struggle against all odds and heroines who are ahead of their time. A
former teacher with a degree in history, she finds there’s nothing better than
being able to combine her love of the past with a die-hard belief in happy
endings.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment